Our sponsors

EPFL - École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

EPFL is Europe’s most cosmopolitan technical university, with students, researchers and staff from over 120 countries. The School pursues three missions – teaching, research and technology transfer – in a dynamic environment that’s open to Switzerland and the world. EPFL collaborates with an extensive network of partners in the business and academic world and is active in a number of international alliances, including some in developing countries. The university consists of five schools, two colleges, 20 research institutes and nearly 500 labs and research groups, with over 6,000 employees and nearly 12,000 students. In 2021, EPFL spun off 32 startups, which together raised a total of over 780 million Swiss francs in funding.


Swiss National Science Foundation
Based on a government mandate, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) supports scientific research in all academic disciplines – from physics to medicine to sociology. At the end of 2020, the SNSF was funding more than 6000 projects involving 20,000 researchers, which makes it the leading Swiss institution for promoting scientific research.


Silver sponsor:

The Swiss Society for Microbiology

The Swiss Society for Microbiology (SSM) is the professional association of Swiss microbiologists in the fields of medical (human and veterinary), fundamental, environmental and food microbiology, virology, mycology and microbial biotechnology. It promotes the advancement of all microbiological disciplines by organizing annual meetings, workshops, courses in continuous education and by participating in current political and public microbiology related debates for the benefit of our society. The SSM advances the communication and exchange of scientific information among its members. Special attention is drawn on the encouragement and career development of young and promising members by granting an annual SSM promotion award and competitive travel fellowships for PhD students and young postdocs.

Bronze Sponsors:

Givaudan Nestlé PyroScience


Special thank you to:

The Agouron Institute Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation ISME18 is supported by a grant from the Simons Foundation